Editing 16mm Film Traditionally?

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

avpproductions6

Editing 16mm Film Traditionally?

Post by avpproductions6 »

I'm just getting into 16mm filmmaking.

I bought a 16mm bolex and have a working projector. I also purchased a splicer and presstape.

Do you have any suggestions on a piece of equipment i could use to edit on 16mm? I have been looking at gang synchronizers and steenbecks online.
I'm not exactly sure what I should get.
woods01

Re: Editing 16mm Film Traditionally?

Post by woods01 »

You can get by with a Zeiss Moviscop viewer and a pair of rewinds. Not as swank as a steenbeck, but a lot easier to ship and store! You should also consider investing in a Ciro guillotine splicer. Its faster and easier to splice and the tape is cheaper than presstapes, however those splicers are pricey, proabably $100 used unless you're lucky. Once you've used a guillotine splicer you'll never want to use press tape again.

The sync block is only needed if you are conforming A&B rolls of negative for printing or have sync sound on mag stock. They are also handy for getting frame accurate counts of your film if you were to send film off for printing. Most people use them these days for door stops or boat anchors, but if you're really hardcore you can use them to jury rig your own hand cranked contact printer.
avpproductions6

I like the design of the guillotine splicer. I might save up for one. Thanks for the help!
Mmechanic

Post by Mmechanic »

Great attitude!

Viewers are helpful. I am a professional motion-picture film editor, so trust me when I speak of the Moviola, of the Steenbeck or other flatbed editing apparatus. Yes, a Zeiss Moviscop is not bad a tool.