super 8 and air travel

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

saltyninja

super 8 and air travel

Post by saltyninja »

hi guys,

a question about air travel. i'm new to Super 8 and plan to take my camera and some Tri-X and Plus-X reversal film on a trip from the united states to germany. i plan to stash it all cosily in my checked baggage.

my question is: do airport security x-rays damage unexposed super 8 film stock? what about rolls that have been shot but not yet developed? i'm wondering if I should perhaps mail the film to myself instead.

i'm totally naive on the technical aspects so any advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,

stefan
super8france

Post by super8france »

Hi

Mexico to France
Kenya to France

in a special bag, no problem for me.

In my bag I had Vision 2-200T + Kahl UT 18 ...
aj

Re: super 8 and air travel

Post by aj »

saltyninja wrote:my question is: do airport security x-rays damage unexposed super 8 film stock? what about rolls that have been shot but not yet developed? i'm wondering if I should perhaps mail the film to myself instead.

Check for old threads on the subject. There are plenty. Use google on this site or the search function of the forum itself.

In brief. hardly a thing to fear. But, mail indeed doesn't get x-ray-ed at all. You could mail them to the lab directly. then they are ready when you get home (possibly) :) The risk of getting lost in the mail is a multitude larger then receiving damage from the modern and low-level handbag x-ray scanners.
Last edited by aj on Fri Aug 10, 2007 11:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Kind regards,

André
onsuper8

Post by onsuper8 »

I had a load of Kodachrome that went through a very clunky looking ex Eastern Bloc X-Ray machine in Cuba and it had no problems!
Film16

Post by Film16 »