Will my film be degraded?

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

lifeinplastic

Will my film be degraded?

Post by lifeinplastic »

Hi...

I am still new to super 8 filming. I went on a trip to Europe last year and I brought along 12 cartridges of Kodak color negative stock and shot my trip with my beaulieu.

I have plans of eventually transferring my film to an uncompressed hard drive and then editing with a computer.

For some reason, I delayed getting all of my film developed until recently- part procrastination, part forgetfulness, and part lack of money.

Anyways, it will have ultimately been over a year between when the film was exposed and when it was developed.

Is this going to change the quality of the film. I have kept the film in a cool, dark place for that entire time.

On the Kodak site it says that film should be developed as soon after exposure as possible.

If the film will be degraded from the development delay, what kind of problems could I expect to see from the film? Changes in saturation, contrast, fogging, etc?

I know it really doesn't matter with 35mm photos. You can develop the film any time after shooting and the results will be the same. I don't know why it would be that much different with super 8 film.

I look forward to your responses...
MovieStuff

Post by MovieStuff »

It will most likely be fine but, really, what choice do you have? Would you not bother to process it if we said it would come out a bit faded? You can do a lot during the transfer and also in post so I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Roger
wado1942

Post by wado1942 »

I second that remark. It's probably fine.

know it really doesn't matter with 35mm photos. You can develop the film any time after shooting and the results will be the same