The perfect beginners camera? Does it exist?

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

Muckymuck

The perfect beginners camera? Does it exist?

Post by Muckymuck »

Just thinking about when I started and all the trial and error got me thinking what a complete novice who just wants to find out what it is like and get a half-decent image would find useful in a Super 8 camera, and the following features spring to mind-

- Fixed focus lens.
- 18 fps.
- XL shutter.
- Auto exposure.
- Takes 25, 40, 64, 100 and 160 ISO film speeds (so can use Ektachrome 64T bought from the local independent camera shop).

Out of interest, does any camera exist with this very specification? I know of plenty which do most but only take 40 and 160 ISO.

If so these would make good gifts for video users who might be converted to the joys of Super 8 as they couldn't get it wrong and give up at the first try!
T-Scan

Post by T-Scan »

Canon 512XL
100D and Vision 3 please
ECNtoo

Post by ECNtoo »

i think youll find that video people getting 18fps and fixed focus will get pissed off with the lack of focus and weird frame rate. they will then attribute those 'weird' features with super8 and dump the idea
Rusty

Post by Rusty »

I think the Kodak Instamatic M2 is user friendly. It has everything you listed except for the automatic exposure and xl shutter.

Rusty
"I think in art, but especially in films, people are trying to confirm their own existences"- Jim Morrison
Evan Kubota

Post by Evan Kubota »

I agree with most of the previous posters... the 'features' you mention are more like limits leading to the cliched look. My list:

battery operated
accurate exposure metering with full manual mode
24 fps required
quality lens
durable/reliable (excludes the French ones)
super8man

Post by super8man »