Some help for a first time buyer?

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

Eean

Some help for a first time buyer?

Post by Eean »

Hi, I'm totally new to all this so please excuse me if i sound stupid or if i ask something that seems really obvious! :oops:
I have tried to search for the answers already but it seems to bring up nearly every thread on here when i try!!
Basically i'm looking at buying an 8mm cinecamera to document my forthcoming trip to the U.S. (i'm getting married)
I don't have any experience in this field, so i don't really know where to start, what to buy etc. Or if there are any books that are good for first timers. I want to be able to shoot at night (for vegas etc). I have a light meter for my camera, can I use that?
Any ideas on what film I need, prices and anywhere I can get the stuff developed in the UK?
Also is there any way to get your film onto DVD or CDR so it can be played for others?

As i say, I'm sorry if this is really obvious information, and if you can point me in the right direction or tell me yourself it would be much appreciated!

:?
gianni1

Post by gianni1 »

What's your budget for camera, film, processing and viewing?

Under a hundred, a few hundred, or many hundreds?

I would test out a new system, camera film and processing, prior to the main event.

I would shoot on film, transfer it to DV, then edit on the computer.

Top end in the uk is £50 a cart of Kodak Colour Neg 200 film, for the film, processing and telecine to mini DV tape. Todd-AO at http://www.todd-ao.co.uk/ Then it's up to you to edit it on the computer using firewire transfer, assemble edit or cut it with movie maker or imovie (or what have you), then burn a DVD-R or transfer it back to the mini dv tape.

Mid range is the widescreen centre http://www.widescreen-centre.co.uk/cine.php