Retro 8 1st roll

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

Retro 8 1st roll

Postby Tscan » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:26 pm

Here is a sample of the first roll I captured last night with the new Retro 8 scanner. The only tweaking was the exposure, captured and rendered at 720P. You do see a tad of the upper frame line, but captured another roll this morning where i used the framer, tweaked the RGB, and used the grain reduction.. it looks a lot better but can't show it on account of exceeding my Vimeo upload limit. I'm still getting used to the unit and features, but can see the awesome potential!
https://vimeo.com/68714099
Reborn member since Sept 2003
Tscan
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby Andreas Wideroe » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:50 pm

Thanks for sharing! Looks pretty good. :D What's your opinion on the dynamic range of the camera inside the Retro 8? Are you able to bring out more details in the shadows without going all white in the sky?
Andreas Wideroe
Filmshooting | Com - Administrator

Support the Filmshooting forum with donations:
http://www.filmshooting.com/scripts/forum/donate.php
User avatar
Andreas Wideroe
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2096
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Kristiansand, Norway

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby JeremyC » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:10 pm

What film was it shot on and what sort of camera?
JeremyC
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:51 pm

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby Tscan » Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:45 am

JeremyC wrote:What film was it shot on and what sort of camera?

I used my Nizo 481 and Ektachrome 100D. The dynamic range is pretty good, the color really pops on the sunny stuff i've been transferring today. The 100D is definitely hi con, but not any more than a high end telecine when it come to reversal. I've been shooting the negative stocks larely and really excited to see how those work out.
Reborn member since Sept 2003
Tscan
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby MovieStuff » Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:58 am

awand wrote:Thanks for sharing! Looks pretty good. :D What's your opinion on the dynamic range of the camera inside the Retro 8? Are you able to bring out more details in the shadows without going all white in the sky?


The camera's gamma has been adjusted at the chip level to try and anticipate reversal contrast. Also, there is a gamma adjustment in the capture software. You can turn down the exposure to protect the highlights and then use the gamma adjustment to bring detail out of the shadow areas. This effectively lets you compress the contrast range so that you can do what you wish later in post.

Roger
http://www.moviestuff.tv
http://www.rogerevans.tv

Finally.....
User avatar
MovieStuff
 
Posts: 5952
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 12:07 am
Location: The wilds of Utopia, Texas

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby Tscan » Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:23 am

MovieStuff wrote:
awand wrote:Thanks for sharing! Looks pretty good. :D What's your opinion on the dynamic range of the camera inside the Retro 8? Are you able to bring out more details in the shadows without going all white in the sky?


The camera's gamma has been adjusted at the chip level to try and anticipate reversal contrast. Also, there is a gamma adjustment in the capture software. You can turn down the exposure to protect the highlights and then use the gamma adjustment to bring detail out of the shadow areas. This effectively lets you compress the contrast range so that you can do what you wish later in post.

Roger

Giving that a try on the scan i'm doing now and it works very well. You can really bring out the highlights without blowing anything out. Been playing with it all day and as I get more comfortable with the features and work flow, the scans keep coming out nicer.
Reborn member since Sept 2003
Tscan
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby Richard Hale » Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:39 pm

Enjoyed your 1 min scan. Looks very good.
I am interested to know how large the file size of your 720P 1 minute video is.
Richard Hale
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby super8man » Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:24 am

I would be interested to know the file sizes of a 50 foot roll before and after pulldown. Lots of detail in that 720 transfer. I thought the skies were too blown out but the one scene of the raspberries on the green vines was really nice. Keep up the good work.

Here's my youtube from some years back of 100D in regular 8:
http://youtu.be/slttvF9MX-I
My website - check it out...
http://super8man.filmshooting.com/
super8man
Senior member
 
Posts: 3979
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 10:51 pm
Location: The Golden State

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby Tscan » Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:29 am

super8man wrote:I would be interested to know the file sizes of a 50 foot roll before and after pulldown. Lots of detail in that 720 transfer. I thought the skies were too blown out but the one scene of the raspberries on the green vines was really nice. Keep up the good work.

Here's my youtube from some years back of 100D in regular 8:
<a href="http://youtu.be/slttvF9MX-I" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" class="vglnk"><span>http</span><span>://</span><span>youtu</span><span>.</span><span>be</span><span>/</span><span>slttvF9MX</span><span>-</span><span>I</span></a>

A 50ft roll comes out to about 2.2GB as a processed MOV file. The unprocessed file on my capture drive is about 750MB. I've processed a few captures as numbered image sequences (don't know the size off hand) but i need to figure out away to deal with it in Sony Vegas... I'm able to bring them into the time line where the default is 5 seconds per frame. I'm able to change that value but haven't found a number to plug in yet that works right. I've been sticking to the native 720P, Sony has a nice MFX 720P 24fps codec for intermediate full size renders.
Reborn member since Sept 2003
Tscan
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: Retro 8 1st roll

Postby MovieStuff » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:07 am

Don't drag the folder of images to your timeline. Go to "import file" and when you open the folder that has the images, click on the first one to highlite it. Then check the box for image sequence and okay. At least that's how it works in Premier.

Roger
http://www.moviestuff.tv
http://www.rogerevans.tv

Finally.....
User avatar
MovieStuff
 
Posts: 5952
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 12:07 am
Location: The wilds of Utopia, Texas


Return to Small gauge film forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 4 guests