What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

Post Reply
cinemind
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:38 am

What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Post by cinemind » Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:48 am

Hi.
I have Canon 310XL super 8 camera and I know this camera can't recognize
Kodak 64T Ektachrome properly.

I heard that I can get right exposure with 64T using 2.0 ND filter over the light meter in front of camera.
If so, would I get a similar result with red exposure plate being up which is located on the camera?
I'd like to shoot outdoor daytime with 64T. What can I do without ND filter?

User avatar
vidwerk
Posts: 822
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 2:20 am
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Contact:

Re: What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Post by vidwerk » Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:36 pm

I managed to get my Canon 310xl to correctly read E64T. You can see my post with video link under the comments section of the super 8 wiki here.
http://super8wiki.com/index.php/Canon_310_XL

vidwerk.

Jim Carlile
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 9:59 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Post by Jim Carlile » Tue Nov 25, 2008 9:30 am

The red plate is a "Waterhouse stop." It is the equivalent of a factor 4 ND filter (two stops). It's main purpose is to cut down the light when used in conjunction with a complementary 4.0 ND over the lens. The meter has a separate window so it needs a separate ND. It can also be used as a backlight compensator, to open up the aperture a little, without a filter over the lens.

For 64T, much depends upon how the 310 reads the speed notch. If it reads it at ASA 160, then yes, that will open up the meter to get you approximately at an ASA 40 equivalent (two stops down from ASA 160.) Put an external 85 over the lens and you'll cut down the light by 2/3 of a stop more, bringing you very close to the measured ASA 64 of the film.

But if the 310 reads 64T at ASA 40 (some do) keep the filter switch at bulb and put the 85 over the lens only. Keep the red thing down. You'll end up with the same result-- an effective reading at ASA 64 (approx.)

Way to check the camera is to insert the cartridge and see how the pins are displaced. If they are all up, it's reading film at ASA 160. One down, ASA 40. Much depends upon the precision of the cut and the way the camera pins were set up-- the 64 speed-indice is not indicated for those (or most other) cameras, so precision in detection was not Canon's goal. That ASA 64 in-between size didn't matter to them.

cinemind
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:38 am

Re: What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Post by cinemind » Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:59 am

WOW..Thanks guys.
It would be very helpful to me.
Thanks again.

gabrielborner
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:30 pm

Re: What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Post by gabrielborner » Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:10 pm

http://www.filmshooting.com/index.php?o ... Itemid=154

Hello!
Please take a look at the above link. The 310XL has 2 pins. All pins in 40 ASA, 1 pin in (right pin) 160 ASA and both pins out (filling the gap in the cassette) 250 ASA.
, gabriel

Jim Carlile
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 9:59 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: What happens if I use 64T in Canon 310XL with red plate up?

Post by Jim Carlile » Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:40 am

You're right, I stand corrected. If both the pins are in it's ASA 40, if both are out it's ASA 250, so the one pin in would be ASA 160.

It all depends upon how the cartridge was cut. The main point is that if the camera reads ASA 64 at 160 the compensation procedure is different than an ASA 40 reading. You can't rely upon every 310 reading 64T the same way-- or even different cartridges of it-- so you gotta test it first.

Post Reply